When Do You Make Your Wish?

Greetings to All

During our childhood we all are exposed to several articles of faith. One of them is the belief that if you make a wish at a certain occasion, that wish is most likely to come true.  In our lives these articles of faith serve a very useful purpose; they help us negotiate through the harshness of life.

Have you ever tried to circumambulate a Neelkanth (Blue Jay)?  In 1957 when  I was about ten years old, a friend of mine confided to me that if I circumambulate a Neelkanth (Blue Jay) sitting on  a tree, pole or electric wires seven times and then make a wish, my that wish was guranteed to come true.

indian_roller4.jpg

I have never been able to test the truthfulness in the claim. I have tried several times, but till today, I have never succeeded in making more than two circles of any Blue Jay. Do what I may the clever bird some how senses what I am trying to do and flies off -leaving my wish-making incomplete. I dare you to try this feat and confirm if you could reach the wish making stage (when you write a comment to this blog).

 

I am not sure if we all realize how tenaciously we hold on to such article of faith specially those inbibed in our child hood. Having grown up and even after realizing the folly of our article of faith we continue to be loyal and remain partial to that belief. I still hope to be able to defeat some Blue Jay some day!

 

People around the globe have their own favorite occassions for making wishes.  I have collated below some commonly believed  ‘wish-making’ instances. Relive in the list below your favorite wish making occassions and add a few new ones to your compilation.

 

Are there some occassions  you know for wish making not in the list below?   Would like to share them with others? If you have some new ones or variations of  these write them out in your comments to this blog.

 

Enjoy ……

 

birthday.jpg

  Blowing out candles on a birthday cake Make a wish before you blow out the candles on your birthday cake.   

eyelash3.jpg

Wishing when blowing off a fallen eyelash off of a  finger .

thist_sd3.jpg

   Blowing  off dandelion achenes.     

                    coin3.jpg           

Tossing a coin into a wishing well or fountain.Throw a coin in a fountain; make a wish when the water clears so you can see your reflection.

pinky3.jpg

     Locking pinky fingers with someone who just said the same thing as you at the same time (as an alternative to a “jinx”).

shootingstar2.jpg

  Wishing on seeing a shooting star.

clock2.jpg

  Seeing the time 11:11 on a clock.

  bone3.jpg

Finding, or breaking, the wishbone in a turkey or a chicken (

Another version, you and a friend will pull on the two ends of the wishbone. Whoever gets the “joint” as well as their “leg” gets the wish.!

OR

Make a wish with another person on a wishbone. Each takes an end and pulls until it breaks. The person with the largest piece of bone gets the “lucky break” and the wish. 

lady.jpg

When a lady bug lands on you and you make a wish before it flies off.

 feather1.jpg    

When you catch a feather and blow it off your hand.

magpie.jpg

 When you see 8 magpies together.

blue.jpg

Touch blue and your wish will come true.

 

mm.jpg

Make a wish each time you eat a green M&M .

threebirds.jpg

Make a wish when you see three birds on a telephone wire.

  watermelon.jpg

Put a watermelon seed on your forehead and make a wish before it falls off.

firststar.jpg

 Make a wish on the first star you see in the evening.  

 

newshoes.jpg

 Make a wish on a new pair of shoes before you wear them for the first time. 

robin.jpg

 Make a wish on the first robin you see in the spring. 

penny.jpg

 Find a penny, wear it in your left shoe, and your wish will come true. 

  midsummer.jpg

Wishes made on Midsummer’s Eve (June 23) are most likely to come true.

bridge.jpg

Hold your breath and make a wish while crossing a short straight bridge.

 lantern.jpg

In households in the Indian sub-continents when kerosene lanterns,  lamps were lit in the evening for the first time a wish for well being was always made. Now with the electricity becoming available in most house holds the wish making continues when bulbs are switched on in the evenings. .

 

 

 

   

11 responses to “When Do You Make Your Wish?

  1. If you manage to hold your breath while crossing through a tunnel, you get to make a wish! ( it works, but not recommended.. can be really painful)

  2. That was a new one. Thanks farlin.
    May all your wishes come true.
    Good luck.
    Amen
    Vijay

  3. Nitika luthra

    I know how these childhood beliefs last forever. I remember going to Jhajhar Kotla (am I remembering the name right??) Tina masi taught me the ‘one for sorrow, two for joy….’ rhyme. She pointed out the mynah bird, and since then, to this day – I have blind faith in this – If I see two mynah birds on my way to work, I feel a little more positive. It doesn’t matter how my day goes after that. If I see one, I feel this negative presentiment – and I link anything that goes wrong throughout the day to my seeing that one bird.

    I also make wishes on the eyelash thing – the rest I don’t bother about. There’s just too many things!!!

    Interesting read, though! 🙂

  4. Pingback: star light, star bright — The Wish Bank

  5. Dear Sir; Salutations to you in the name of the Almighty creator. It is cent per cent true, that when the Neelkanth or blue jay is sitting on a Pipal tree, and we circumambulate the Pipal tree, seven times, with the Blue Jay or the Neelkant bird sitting on it; and make a wish; than, if the Neelkanth gives a blue-feather from it’s body, than your wish will be fulfilled… and a Vishnu’s Avataar will be created or born,etc. This mythological part of the belief. This has proved to be true. For more details sent an email to:- feather_neelkanth@yahoo.co.in or Cont mob no.:- +91-8876885576. God Bless All. PEACE. LONG-LIVE INDIA.

  6. Is this where I should post my intro?. Hi I am Andy. My likes are — alternative health — this is really interesting menopause cures.I’ll be reading more at bharthiae.wordpress.com http://menopause-cures.com/menopause-symptoms-cure.gif
    http://menopause-cure.jimdo.com/

  7. It is cent per cent true, that when the Neelkanth or blue jay is sitting on a Pipal tree, and we circumambulate the Pipal tree, seven times, with the Blue Jay or the Neelkant bird sitting on it; and make a wish; than, if the Neelkanth gives a blue-feather from it’s body, than your wish will be fulfilled…This is the mythological part of the belief. This has proved to be true b’cause in the year 1981August 19th, I did manage to circumambulate the pipal tree 7 times; made a wish and received a multi-shaded blue feather from the Neelkanth bird….. and the wish I made or asked for—, was fulfilled in the year 1991,September 24 to 26. (forgot the exact date): and a new opening to life and perception. For details I need to sent an attachment of the story – now story. So what was a myth then—- after being proved—- is a ‘FACT’ now. God Bless all. PEACE.

  8. Is it considered good or badluck when a myna bird flies into your home?

Leave a comment